San Diego meeting logo
Joint Sessions

Joint Special Sessions

History of Mathematics (Code: AMS SS A1), Thomas Archibald, Acadia University, and David E. Zitarelli, Temple University (AMS-MAA); Tuesday and Wednesday mornings and afternoons.

Mathematics and Education Reform (Code: AMS SS Q1), William H. Barker, Bowdoin College, Jerry L. Bona, University of Texas at Austin, Naomi D. Fisher, University of Illinois at Chicago, and Kenneth C. Millett, University of California Santa Barbara (AMS-MAA); Sunday and Monday mornings and afternoons.

Set Theory and Classification Problems (Code: AMS SS DD1), Simon R. Thomas, Rutgers University (AMS-ASL); Sunday morning and Sunday and Monday afternoons.

Set Theory and Classification Problems (Code: AMS SS DD1), Simon R. Thomas, Rutgers University (AMS-ASL); Sunday morning and Sunday and Monday afternoons.

Other Joint Sessions

Professors for the Future Programs, organized by Samuel M. Rankin, AMS, and Tom Rishel, MAA,Wednesday, 9:00 a.m. -10:30 a.m. Various graduate student development and training programs, often described as Professors for the Future, have come into existence at institutions across the country. One of these is funded by the NSF and administered through the AMS and MAA. In this panel, directors of both the NSF-funded and some of the separately-funded programs will discuss their activities, looking at what works and what doesn't, and concentrating on the effects they are seeing on the continuing careers of their students.

Research on TAs: Background, Beliefs, Attitude, and Practice, Monday, 1:00 p.m. ­2:30 p.m., organized by Bruce Reznick, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and Teri Jo Murphy, University of Oklahoma. Over the past decade, many models for TA preparation and development have been described and discussed. Programs based on these models have had a positive impact on the experience of graduate teaching assistants and on their students. More recently, researchers in mathematics education have been studying the way that TA attitudes towards mathematics and its teaching affect their instruction. Researchers have gained a deeper understanding of how new TAs view teaching and learning, and what is needed to help new TAs become effective teachers. This research has the potential to suggest modifications and adaptations of existing models as well as the design of the next generation of programs. The panelists are Karen King, Michigan State University; David Meel, Bowling Green State University; and Natasha Speer, Michigan State University. They will present relevant research findings and lead a discussion about what the results may mean for TA preparation and development programs. The session is sponsored by the AMS-MAA Committee on Teaching Assistants and Part-Time Instructors (TA/PTI).

Prize Session and Reception

updated In order to showcase the achievements of the recipients of various prizes, the AMS and MAA are cosponsoring this event at 4:25 p.m. on Monday. A cash bar reception will immediately follow. All participants are invited to attend.. The MAA prizes include the Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics, the Chauvenet Prize, the Beckenbach Book Prize, and Certificates of Meritorious Service. The AMS will announce the winners of the Bôcher Memorial Prize, Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Number Theory, Levi L. Conant Prize, the Award for Distinguished Public Service, and the Leroy P. Steele Prizes. The AWM will present the Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education and the Alice T. Schafer Prize for Excellence in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Woman.

Note on Joint Invited Addresses: AMS Committee on Science Policy-MAA Science Policy Committee Government Speaker, Tuesday, 4:20 p.m. Speaker to be announced. See program for further information on joint addresses and sessions.

12/10/01 10:20 POP