2017 Prizes and Awards

The following prize recipients will be honored at the Joint Prize Session which will be held on Thursday, January 5, 2017 at 4:25 p.m. in Atrium Ballroom, Atrium Level, Marriott Marquis. It will be followed by a cash bar reception in the pre-function area of the Atrium Ballroom.

Link to Prize Booklet Here


Bôcher Memorial Prize: András Vasy
Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Number Theory: Henri Darmon
Levi L. Conant Prize: David H. Bailey, Jonathan M. Borwein, Andrew Mattingly, Glenn Wightwick
Joseph L. Doob Prize: John Friedlander and Henryk Iwaniec
Leonard Eisenbud Prize for Mathematics & Physics: László Erdős, Horng-Tzer Yau     
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement: James Arthur
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition: Dusa McDuff, Dietmar Salamon
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Seminal Contribution to Research: Leon Simon 
Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics: Laura DeMarco

See details here.


Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student: David H. Yang

Honorable Mention: Aaron Landesman


Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education: Cathy Kessel  
M. Gweneth Humphreys Award: Helen G. Grundman
Joan & Joseph Birman Research Prize in Topology and Geometry: Emmy Murphy


Communications Award for Expository and Popular Books: Siobhan Roberts
Communications Award for Public Outreach: Arthur T. Benjamin


Beckenbach Book Prize: Tim Chartier
Chauvenet Prize: Mark Schilling
Euler Book Prize: Ian Stewart
Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics: Janet Heine Barnett, Caren Diefenderfer, Tevian Dray
Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics: Martha Siegel
Robbins Prize: Robert Hough

See details here.