full screen background image

Joint Mathematics Meetings

Joint Prize Session

Prize Session and Reception: In order to showcase the achievements of the recipients of various prizes, the AMS and MAA are cosponsoring this event at 4:25 p.m. on Thursday. A cash bar reception will immediately follow. All participants are invited to attend. The AMS, MAA, and SIAM will award the Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student. The AMS will announce the winners of the Levi L. Conant Prize, E. H. Moore Research Article Prize, Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research by an Undergraduate Student, David P. Robbins Prize, Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics, Leroy P. Steele Prizes, Oswald Veblen Prize in Goemetry, and Norbert Wiener Prize in Applied Mathematics. The MAA will award the Chauvenet Prize; Euler Book Prize; Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics; Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics; David P. Robbins Prize in Algebra, Combinatorics, and Discrete Mathematics; and Certificates of Meritorious Service. The AWM will present the Alice T. Schafer Prize for Excellence in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Woman, the Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education, and the Gweneth Humphreys Award for Mentorship of Undergraduate Women in Mathematics.

This session will also be the venue for the announcement of the Joint Policy Board for Mathematics Communication Award.