2014 Prizes and Awards

The following prize recipients will be honored at the Joint Prize Session which will be held on Thursday, January 16, 2014 at 4:25 p.m. in Ballrooms I&II, 400 Level, Baltimore Convention Center. It will be followed by a cash bar reception in the foyer.


Award for Distinguished Public Service: Philip Kutzko  
Bôcher Memorial Prize: Simon Brendle 
Levi L. Conant Prize: Alex Kontorovich  
Joseph L. Doob Prize: Cédric Villani  
Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Number Theory: Yitang Zhang, and Daniel Goldston, János Pintz, and Cem Y. Yıldırım 
Leonard Eisenbud Prize for Mathematics and Physics: Gregory W. Moore 
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement: Phillip A. Griffiths 
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition: Dmitri Y. Burago, Yuri D. Burago, and
Sergei V. Ivanov  
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Seminal Contribution to Research: Luis Caffarelli, Robert Kohn, and Louis Nirenberg 

See details here.


Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student: Eric Larson 


Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education: Sybilla Beckmann 
M. Gweneth Humphreys Award for Mentorship of Undergraduate Women in Mathematics: William Yslas Vélez  
Alice T. Schafer Prize for Excellence in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Woman:
Sarah Peluse 


Communications Award: Danica McKellar


Beckenbach Book Prize: Judith Grabiner 
Chauvenet Prize: Ravi Vakil   
Euler Book Prize: Steven Strogatz   
Certificates for Meritorious Service: Lowell Beineke, Stan Chadick, Aparna Higgins, and
Tina Straley   
Robbins Prize: Frederick V. Henle and James M. Henle  
Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or
University Teaching of Mathematics:
Carl Lee, Gavin LaRose, and Andrew Bennett   
Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics:
Joan Letizel 

See details here.