2016 Prizes and Awards

The following prize recipients will be honored at the Joint Prize Session which will be held on Thursday, January 7, 2016 at 4:25 p.m. in Ballroom 6BC, Washington State Convention Center. It will be followed by a cash bar reception in the foyer.

Link to Prize Booklet Here


Award for Distinguished Public Service: Aloysius Helminck 
Chevalley Prize in Lie Theory:  Geordie Williamson
Levi L. Conant Prize:  Daniel Rothman
EH Moore Research Article Prize: Caucher Birkar, Paolo Cascini, Christopher Hacon, James McKernan
Robbins Prize: Manuel Kauers, Christoph Koutschan, Doron Zeilberger
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement:  Barry Simon
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition: David Cox, Donal O’Shea, John Little
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Seminal Contribution to Research: Andrew Majda

See details here.


Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by
an Undergraduate Student:
Amol Aggarwal 

Honorable Mention: Evan O’Dorney


Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education:  Judy Walker
M. Gweneth Humphreys Award for Mentorship of Undergraduate Women in Mathematics: Naomi Jochnowitz
Alice T. Schafer Prize for Excellence in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Woman:
Mackenzie Simper


Communications Award for Expository and Popular Books: Simon Singh
Communications Award for Public Outreach: National Museum of Mathematics (MoMath)  


Chauvenet Prize: Susan Marshall, Donald R. Smith   
Euler Book Prize:  Jordan Ellenberg
Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics: Satyan Devadoss, Tyler Jarvis, Glen Van Brummelen
Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics: George Berzsenyi

See details here.