JMM 2018

Joint Prize Session

In order to showcase the achievements of recipients of the various prizes, the AMS and MAA are co-sponsoring this event at 4:25 pm on Thursday. A cash bar reception will immediately follow. All participants are invited to attend.

The AMS, MAA, and SIAM will announce the JPBM Communications Award winner. The AMS, MAA, and SIAM will award the Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student. The AMS and SIAM will announce the George David Birkhoff Prize in Applied Mathematics. The AMS will announce the Levi L. Conant Prize, the Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra, AMS Award for Distinguished Public Service, Bertrand Russell Prize, Chevalley Prize in Lie Theory, the Ulf Grendander Prize in Stochastic Theory and Modeling, Albert Leon Whiteman Memorial Prize, and the Leroy P. Steele Prizes. The MAA will award the Beckenbach Book Prize, the Euler Book Prize, Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics, the Chauvenet Prize, and the Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics. The AWM will present the Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education, the M. Gweneth Humphreys Award for Mentorship of Undergraduate Women in Mathematics, the AWM-Sadosky Research Prize in Analysis, and the AWM-Microsoft Research Prize in Algebra and Number Theory.

See video of prize session here.