JMM 2018

2018 Prizes and Awards

The following prize recipients will be honored at the Joint Prize Session which will be held on Thursday, January 11, 2018 at 4:25 p.m. in Room 6AB, Upper Level, San Diego Convention Center. It will be followed by a cash bar reception in the pre-function area of this ballroom.

Link to Prize Booklet Here

Link to Video of Joint Prize Session Here


Award for Distinguished Public Service: Sylvain Cappell
Bertrand Russell Prize: Christiane Rousseau
Chevalley Prize in Lie Theory: Dennis Gaitsgory
Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra: Robert Guralnick
Levi L. Conant Prize: Henry Cohn
Ulf Grenander Prize in Stochastic Theory and Modeling: Judea Pearl
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement: Jean Bourgain
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition: Martin Aigner, Günter Ziegler
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Seminal Contribution to Research: Sergey Fomin, Andrei Zelevinsky
Albert Leon Whiteman Memorial Prize: Karen Hunger Parshall

See details here.


Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by
an Undergraduate Student:
Ashvin Swaminathan 

Honorable Mention: Greg Yang


George David Birkhoff Prize in Applied Mathematics: Bernd Sturmfels


Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education: Kristin Umland
M. Gweneth Humphreys Award For Mentorship of Undergraduate Women in Mathematics: Erica Flapan
Microsoft Research Prize in Algebra and Number Theory: Melanie Matchett Wood
Sadosky Research Prize in Analysis: Lillian Pierce


Communications Award: Vi Hart, Matt Parker


Beckenbach Book Prize: Roland van der Veen and Jan van de Craats
Chauvenet Prize: Daniel Velleman
Euler Book Prize: Matt Parker
Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or
University Teaching of Mathematics:
Gary Gordon, Hortensia Soto, Ronald Taylor, Jr.
Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics: David Bressoud

See details here.