JMM 2019 Baltimore

AMS Workshops

Department Chairs Workshop

This annual one-day workshop for department chairs and leaders is held on Tuesday, 8:00 am–6:30 pm, the day before the JMM actually begins, and is led by Malcolm Adams, University of Georgia, Gloria Marí-Beffa, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Douglas Mupasiri, University of Northern Iowa, and Jennifer Zhao, University of Michigan-Dearborn.

What makes a chair different than any other engaged faculty member in the department? This workshop examines the chair’s role in leading a department. The day will be structured to include and encourage networking and sharing of ideas amongst participants and will include four sessions: 

Join mathematical sciences department chairs and leaders for this annual one-day workshop.  The registration fee is  US\$200 (includes lunch and post-workshop reception). 

 If you are interested in attending, please register online by December 19 at See details here. For further information, please contact the AMS Office of Government Relations at 401-455-4116 or