JMM 2019 Baltimore

2019 Prizes and Awards

See copy of Prize Booklet here.


Levi L. Conant Prize: Alexander Wright
Mary P. Dolciani Prize for Excellence in Research: Stephan Ramon Garcia
E.H. Moore Research Article Prize: Ciprian Manolescu
David P. Robbins Prize: Roger Behrend, Ilse Fischer, and Matjaz Konvalinka
Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics: Maryna Viazovska            
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition: Philippe Flajolet and Robert Sedgewick
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Seminal Contribution to Research: Haruzo Hida
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement: Jeff Cheeger
Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry: Xiuxiong Chen, Simon Donaldson, and Song Sun


Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student: Ravi Jagadeesan
Honorable Mentions: Evan Chen and Huy Tuan Pham


Norbert Wiener Prize in Applied Mathematics: Marsha Berger and Arkadi Nemirovski


Joan & Joseph Birman Research Prize in Topology and Geometry: Kathryn Mann
Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education: Jacqueline Dewar
M. Gweneth Humphreys Award For Mentorship of Undergraduate Women in Mathematics: Suzanne Weekes


Communications Award: Margot Lee Shetterly


Chauvenet Prize: Tom Leinster
Euler Book Prize: Cathy O’Neil
Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics: Suzanne Doree, Carl Lee, and Jennifer Switkes  
Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics: Philip Uri Treisman

See a video of the joint prize session here: