JMM 2021

2021 Prizes and Awards

Congratulations to the JMM 2021 Prize and Award Winners

PDF of Prize Booklet Here


Bertrand Russell Prize: Michel Waldschmidt
Frank Nelson Cole Prize for Algebra: Chenyang Xu
Levi L Conant Prize: Dan Margalit
Mary P Dolciani Prize for Excellence in Research: Amanda L. Folsom
Ulf Grenander Prize in Stochastic Theory and Modeling: Michael I. Jordan
Albert Leon Whiteman Memorial Prize: Judith Victor Grabiner
Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics: Kaisa Matomäki
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition: Noga Alon and Joel Spencer
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Seminal Contribution to Research: Murray Gerstenhaber
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement: Spencer Bloch


Joan & Joseph Birman Research Prize in Topology and Geometry: Emily Riehl
Louise Hay Award for Contribution to Mathematics Education: Dr. Lynda R. Wiest
M. Gweneth Humphreys Award for Mentorship of Undergraduate Women in Mathematics: Raegan Higgins


Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student: Ashwin Sah and Mehtaab Sawhney
Honorable Mention: Noah Kravitz


Communications Award: John Bailer, Richard Campbell, Rosemary Pennington and Erica Klarreich


George David Birkhoff Prize in Applied Mathematics: Gunther Uhlmann


Beckenback Book Prize: Nathan Carter
Chauvenet Prize: Travis Kowalski
Euler Book Prize: Francis Su and Christopher Jackson
Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics: Dave Kung, David Austin and Elaine Kasimatis
Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service for Mathematics: Deanna Haunsperger