Joint Mathematics Meetings heading, January 15-18-2003, Balt Conv Center

Joint Invited Addresses

Noam D. Elkies, Harvard University, Some novel uses of lattice reduction (AMS-MAA Invited Address).

Edward R. Scheinerman, Johns Hopkins University, Title to be announced (AMS-MAA Invited Address).

AMS Committee on Science Policy-MAA Science Policy Committee Government Speaker, Friday, 4:20 p.m. Speaker to be announced.

Joint Special Sessions

Computability and Models (Code: AMS SS T1), Douglas Cenzer, University of Florida, and Valentina S. Harizanov, The George Washington University.

Dynamical Systems and Oceanography (Code: AMS SS H1), Reza Malek-Madani and Peter A. McCoy, U.S. Naval Academy.

Interactions Between Logic, Group Theory and Computer Science (Code: AMS SS Q1), Alexandre V. Borovik, UMIST, and Alexei Myasnikov, City College of CUNY.

Mathematics and Education Reform (Code: AMS SS N1), Naomi Fisher, University of Illinois at Chicago, William H. Barker, Bowdoin College, Jerry L. Bona, University of Illinois at Chicago, and Kenneth C. Millett, University of California Santa Barbara.

Research in Mathematics by Undergraduates (Code: AMS SS P1), Darren A. Narayan, Carl V. Lutzer, and Tamara A. Burton, Rochester Institute of Technology.

The History of Mathematics (Code: AMS SS S1), Joseph W. Dauben, Lehman College, and David E. Zitarelli, Temple University.

Other Joint Sessions

Math on the Web, Wednesday—Saturday, various times. The problem of communicating Math on the Web is really no different than communicating math via other media. Namely, authoring and displaying mathematical notation is difficult. On top of that, the Web is a dynamic medium, where users can interact with rich media documents in sophisticated ways. This introduces a whole new layer of challenges and possibilities for engaging, interactive communication between authors and readers. Informative presentations at the Math on the Web Pavilion (exhibit booths 719 and 818) will address many of these challenges and possibilities. Come and see what's new in the area of Math on the Web!

Topics to be presented include Overview of MathML Markup; Math on the Web with Mathematica Technology; Creating Interactive Web Pages with MathML; Displaying MathML in Browsers; MathML, OpenMath, and Web Services; Creating Mathematical Documents for the Web With Scientific WorkPlace; TeX to Web Conversion; MathML in the Digital Library of Mathematical Functions; Maple on the Web: New Technologies, Products, and

Applications; and The Case for Structured Documents in Math and Science. See the “Program of the Sessions” section for details on days and times. This session is cosponsored by the AMS and the MAA.

Implementing Preparation and Development Programs for College Mathematics Instructors, Wednesday, 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., organized by Teri J. Murphy, University of Oklahoma, and Natasha Speer, Michigan State University. An increasing number of institutions have experience with designing and implementing professional development opportunities for instructors. In an effort to learn from each other's efforts, during this session audience members will be able to discuss their experiences, ideas, and goals with contributors and with each other. This poster session will begin with opening remarks by the organizers, followed by time for participants to view the posters and engage in discussion with the individual presenters. The session will conclude with a whole-group discussion about issues and ideas generated by the posters. This session is intended for participants from a range of programs that target graduate teaching assistants, postdocs, adjuncts, and new faculty, at two-year as well as four-year colleges. Applications should be submitted to Teri Jo Murphy by December 10, 2002. The session is sponsored by AMS-MAA Joint Committee on Teaching Assistants and Part-Time Instructors.

What It’s Like to Serve as an NSF Program Director, Thursday, 1:00 p.m.—2:00 p.m., organized by Henry A. Warchall, National Science Foundation. There will be two 15-minute presentations by former DMS Program Directors Maria Helena Noronha, California State University, Northridge, and Lynne Walling, Department of Mathematics, University of Colorado, Boulder, followed by a 30-minute question-and-answer period. Participants will discuss the experience of serving as a Program Director in the NSF Division of Mathematical Sciences.

The Math Life, Friday, 2:30 p.m.—3:30 p.m. What goes on inside the head of a mathematician? Did A Beautiful Mind get it right? The Math Life is a 50-minute documentary film funded by the National Science Foundation that gives a window into the people, problems, and process of mathematical thinking and research. Co-produced by filmmakers Wendy Conquest and Bob Drake, and Dartmouth College Mathematics/Computer Science Professor Dan Rockmore, The Math Life is aimed at a general audience, and through animation, interview, and artistic metaphor, promises to reveal everything you always wanted to know about mathematics and mathematicians, but were afraid to ask.

Prize Session and Reception: In order to showcase the achievements of the recipients of various prizes, the AMS and MAA are cosponsoring this event at 4:25 p.m. on Thursday. A cash bar reception will immediately follow. All participants are invited to attend. The AMS, MAA, and SIAM will award the Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student. The MAA prizes include the Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics, the Chauvenet Prize, the Beckenbach Book Prize, the Yueh-gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics, and Certificates of Meritorious Service. The AMS will announce the winners of the George David Birkhoff Prize in Applied Mathematics, Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra, Levi L. Conant Prize, Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics, JPBM Communications Award, and the Leroy P. Steele Prizes. The AWM will present the Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education and the Alice T. Schafer Prize for Excellence in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Woman.