Joint Prize Session

For updated locations, click here; All locations are subject to change

Prize Session and Reception: In order to showcase the achievements of the recipients of various prizes, the AMS and MAA are cosponsoring this event at 4:25 5:25 p.m. on Tuesday, Marriott Ballroom Salons 1 and 2, Lobby Level, Marriott Wardman Park Hotel . A cash bar reception will immediately follow. All participants are invited to attend. The AMS, MAA, and SIAM will award the Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student. The AMS will announce the winners of the George David Birkhoff Prize in Applied Mathematics, Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra, Levi L. Conant Prize, Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics, Leroy P. Steele Prizes, and the Albert Leon Whiteman Memorial Prize. The MAA will award the Chauvenet Prize, Euler Book Prize, Yueh-Gin Gung and Dr. Charles Y. Hu Award for Distinguished Service to Mathematics, Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics, and Certificates of Meritorious Service. The AWM will present the Alice T. Schafer Prize for Excellence in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Woman and the Louise Hay Award for Contributions to Mathematics Education.

This session will also be the venue for the announcement of the Joint Policy Board for Mathematics Communication Award and the Leonard M. and Eleanor B. Blumenthal Award for the Advancement of Research in Pure Mathematics.